

Resolution #21-03-10

RESOLUTION TO REDUCE MILITARY SPENDING

WHEREAS, the U.S. 2021-22 military budget is \$741 billion, larger than the next seven countries combined, eleven times greater than Russia's military budget and four times the size of China's military expenditures, funding 800 military bases in 80 countries; enough nuclear weapons to destroy the earth ten times over; private military contractors operating with little oversight and endless wars in the Middle East that fuel resentment and extremism;

WHEREAS, the Pentagon is the largest institutional consumer of fossil fuels and largest emitter of greenhouse gases in the world, worsening an existential climate crisis that is the most urgent threat to national security, while also posing a threat to indigenous peoples of the global south disproportionately suffering the consequences – extreme weather; floods, famine—of a climate crisis that forces mass displacement, with climate refugees criminalized in their attempts to cross militarized borders to the global north:

WHEREAS, US military expenditures, \$2 billion a day, more than a million dollars a minute, diverts taxpayer money from needs at home, where, according to the National Priorities Project, a 10% cut to the Pentagon budget could achieve any one of the following priorities if reinvested each year: end homelessness; create a million infrastructure jobs; fund enough renewable energy to provide electricity to almost every household; purchase enough N95 masks for all 55 million essential workers to use one a day for more than a year; send a \$2,300 check to each person who is unemployed in the COVID-19 crisis:

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the California Democratic Party encourages members of Congress to join the House Defense Spending Reduction Caucus, co-chaired by Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA-CD-13) and Rep Mark Pocan (D-WI-2), vote to cut the bloated US military budget and support a just transition, with union jobs and prevailing wages, for workers in the weapons industry to secure employment in alternative industries.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution shall be shared with Democratic leadership in the House and Senate, all Democrats in Congress and with the Biden-Harris White House.

SUBMITTED BY:

Co-sponsors: Dr. Bill Honigman, Dr. Jose Moreno, Beatriz "Betty" Valencia, Melahat Vafai, Sudi Farokhnia, Juan Alvarez, Mike Rodriguez, Eugene Fields, Ken Wyant, Natalie Estrada, Ann Mohr, Marlene Gillespie, Jonathan Adler, Cynthia Aguirre, Oscar Rodriguez

Authors: Hanieh Jodat Barnes, 74th AD Delegate; Norman Solomon, AD 10; Dorothy Reik, LACDP Delegate, AD 50.

CDP Delegate Endorsers: Region 18 (passed 3/18/21); Regions 5, 6, 7, 10 (passed: 3/20/21); Hanieh Jodat Barnes, AD 74; Dorothy Reik, AD 50; Norman Solomon, AD10; Larry Gross, AD 46 (regional dir.); David Atkins, AD 37; Amar Shergill, AD 9; Zach Denney, AD 13; Sara Roos, AD 54; Dr Bill Honigman, AD 68; Carolyn Fowler, AD 62; Isabel Storey, AD 50; Paul A Slemmons, AD 5; Ehab Shehata, AD 77; E-Board; Chris Krohn, AD 29; Essy Stone, AD 24; Sarah Saunders, AD 5; Eric Pierce, AD 51; Sean Frame, AD 08; John Finkelman, AD 77; Dana Baker, AD 5;

Margo Rowder, AD 43; Clarissa White, AD 7; David Hildebrand, AD 8; Jessica Gadow, AD 3; Sara H Deen, AD 66;

David R Sonneborn, AD 68; Karen Jackson, AD 9; Pastor Scott A. Hill, AD 7; Matthew Cappiello, AD 75;

Richard Huynh, AD 66; Aveista Helmandi, AD 45; Ryan Trabuco, AD 77; Amna Zuberi, AD 77; Fatima, AD 74;

Yassar Dahbour, AD 9; Murad Sarama, AD 7; Ganesh Balamitran, AD 25; Norman Solomon, AD 10;

Wendy Santamaria, AD 37; Mahmoud Moody Zahriya, AD 9; Sudi Farokhnia, AD 73; Mo Kashmiri, AD 7

Mustafa Nizam; AD 76; Brad Parker, AD 42; Wade Alexander, AD 36; Talat Khan, AD 40; Pamela Nagler, AD 41; Stephanie Terrazas, AD 57; Kareema Abdul-Khabir AD 33; Samila, AD 74; Monica Madrid, AD 9;

Ryan Skolnick, AD 14; Wedad Schlotte, AD 78; Suzy Peterson, AD 42; Glenn Glazer, AD 29; Peter Aziz, AD 66

Renay Grace Rodriguez, AD 45; Brandon Harami, AD 19, Vice Chair, Progressive Caucus; Juan Vazquez, AD 21

Deana J Becker, AD 62; Sameena Usman, AD 25; Robert Nelson, AD 41. Brandon Rey Ramirez. AD 43:

Walter Heath, AD 35; Susan George, AD 14; Jimmy Karam, AD 77; Ria Otero, AD 77; Analisa Swan, AD 43;

Moina Shaiq, AD 20; Una Lee Jost, AD 41; Sam Hindi, AD 22; Amanda Reilly, AD 3; Mindy Pfeiffer, AD 41;

Lorraine Salas, AD 42; Dr. Kev Abazajian, AD 74; Jennifer Chang, AD 43; Michelle Verne, AD 45; Jordan Vannini, AD 41; David L Mandel, AD 7; Roberto Alvarez, AD 51; Karen Stevens, AD 44; Jamie Maraviglia, AD 35;

Cindi Duran, AD 57; Danielle Polson, AD 75; Daniel Bral, AD 50; Sara E Raymond, AD 30; Kieryn Darkwater, AD 18;

Igor Tregub, AD 15; Vancedric Williams, AD 18; William Wayne Reynolds, AD 66; Betty Doumas-Toto, AD 45;

Kayson Verne, AD 46; Chrys Shimizu, AD 45; Colleen Evanson, AD 46; Melissa Grant, AD 50;

John Erickson, AD 50; Jerilyn Stapleton, AD 46; Nicholas Roth, AD 46; Ryan Bell, AD 41; Michelle Verne, AD 40thers (non-delegates): Karen Stevens, VC DCC member; Danett Abbott-Wicker, Progressive Democrats of America; Marcy Winograd, Progressive Democrats of America, Co-Chair, End War and Occupation Team;

Nyabingi Kuti, Progressive Democrats of America; Karen Stevens, VDCC member; AD 50; Karen Stevens, AD 44.

Adopted by the Democratic Party of Orange County Central Committee on March 22, 2021