

Resolution #21-03-8

RESOLUTION TO STOP THE REPUBLICAN RECALL OF GOVERNOR GAVIN NEWSOM

WHEREAS, the effort to recall Governor Newsom is a partisan power grab spearheaded by Donald Trump's National Republican Party, the California Republican Party, and top Trump donors advocating to overturn fair elections, having already worked to delegitimize the American electoral process; and frivolously using California taxpayer dollars to fund this partisan ploy to derail the progress Governor Newsom has made to save lives, provide a safety net for struggling Californians as we are making significant strides returning our lives to normal; and

WHEREAS, the pro-recall ranks are filled with a coalition of anti-vaxxers, Q-Anon conspiracy theorists, and militia groups whose aim is to disrupt and distract from California's progress on COVID-19 recovery, equitable mass vaccinations, and school reopenings while their leaders disseminate anti-vaccination and anti-immigration propaganda on social media sites, actively work against public interest and advocate for the microchipping of immigrants, and

WHEREAS, by uniting, Democrats will prevent Trump's Republican Party from taking over the California government and will stand united against any candidate who seeks the office and helps Republicans succeed.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Democratic Party of Orange County opposes the recall of Governor Gavin Newsom.

SUBMITTED BY:

Ada Briceño, Chair, DNC member, & AD 65 Central Committee member Florice Hoffman, Region 17 Regional Director & AD 68 Central Committee member Eugene Fields, AD 68 Central Committee member

Deborah Cunningham Skurnik, Region 18 Regional Director & AD 73 Central Committee member

Libby Frolichman, Vice Chair West & AD 72 Central Committee member Ken Wyant, AD 68 Central Committee alternate member Anita Narayana, AD 73 Central Committee member Primo Castro. Region 15 Regional Director Cynthia Aguirre, Vice Chair North, AD 55 Central Committee member Melahat Rafiei, DNC member & AD 68 Central Committee member Lauren Johnson Norris, AD 74 Central Committee member Lara Horgan, South Vice Chair & AD 74 Central Committee member

> Adopted by the Democratic Party of Orange County Central Committee on March 22, 2021