The Democratic Party of Orange County (DPOC) is thrilled to announce the three speakers for the 25th Annual Harry S. Truman Awards Dinner: Rusty Hicks, Chair of the California Democratic Party; Congressman Ted Lieu (CA-33); and Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez (AD-80).

The speakers comprise a bold group of state and national representatives who push for effective legislation and people-powered action. 

25th Annual Harry S. Truman Awards Dinner
Saturday, September 28, 2019
5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Anaheim Hilton
777 W. Convention Way
For more information, visit:

Rusty Hicks is the new Chair of the California Democratic Party. Hicks has a proven record as a labor union activist and political organizer mobilizing grassroots efforts to win tough races. As President of the Los Angeles County Federation of Labor, Hicks stood up to powerful corporations to make progress for working families. As CDP Chair, he is focused on keeping the blue wave rolling through California, and taking back Washington D.C. in 2020.

Congressman Ted Lieu is a nationally-recognized rising political figure and outspoken critic of President Trump, with a robust Twitter feed of more than 1.1 million followers. A leader in the 2018 blue wave, Rep. Lieu served as Vice Chair of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee for the western states and is now the Co-chair of the DCCC’s Veteran and Service Council. He has authored groundbreaking legislation on a wide range of issues including climate change, digital security, and conversion therapy, and is a Colonel in the U.S. Air Force Reserve. He is currently serving his third term representing California’s 33rd Congressional District.

Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez has emerged as one of the most effective and outspoken champions for progressive values in California. The Atlantic described her as “the California Democrat setting the national agenda,” and POLITICO named her one of the top 50 “thinkers, doers, and visionaries transforming American politics.” A passionate believer in voting rights, she brought automated voter registration to nearly 7 million unregistered voters by authoring and passing California’ New Motor Voter Act in 2015.

The Democratic Party of Orange County will award its signature Truman Awards to Orange County’s four freshman Congressional representatives: Gil Cisneros (CA-39), Mike Levin (CA-49), Katie Porter (CA-45), and Harley Rouda (CA-48)


Release Date: September 19, 2019
Media Contact: Amy Stevens,