January 14, 2019, Orange, Calif. — The Democratic Party of Orange County (DPOC) today announced its Central Committee Members elected a new leadership team to helm Orange County Democrats through the 2020 Presidential campaign cycle.

The new leadership team includes Ada Briceño as Chair, Jeff LeTourneau as Northern Region Vice Chair, Beatrice “Betty” Valencia as Central Region Vice Chair, Victor Valladares as Western Region Vice Chair, Annie Wright as Southern Region Vice Chair, Florice Hoffman as Treasurer and Luis Aleman as Secretary.

Leadership bios are available here. Election photos are available here (Photo credit: Michael Sean Wright).

Newly elected Chair Ada Briceño is the first Latina to lead DPOC in more than two decades. She released the following statement:

“I ran for Chair of the Democratic Party of Orange County because it’s the most exciting time to be a Democrat and a labor leader. It is an honor to stand on the shoulders of past successes led by Chair Fran Sdao, and I look forward to working closely with our entire Democratic community.

“My work has been fueled by the extraordinary activism in our communities. My mission is to bring people together, facilitate dialogue, and share the fundamental belief that all of us deserve fair representation and opportunities. This year marks the 100th anniversary of the woman’s right to vote. As a woman of color, I’m proud to see all the work we have done, and recognize all the work still left to do.”

Outgoing Chair Fran Sdao released the following statement of support for the new leadership:

“It has been an honor to serve as Chair. I look forward to working with our new leaders during this transition, and to our exciting future ahead.”


Media contact: Rachel Potucek, rachel@ocdemocrats.org